A Piece of Me

I’ve not written much lately, medication has made me a bit of an emotionless zombie, I’m not happy or sad, just indifferent. It’s better than crying all the time I guess.

I wrote this poem (of sorts) after Rory died. It’s not perfect, it is raw and full of pain but I love it.

There is a piece of me missing

A baby oh so small

There is a piece of me missing

He is loved, most special of all
There is a piece of me missing 

My heart aches and I cry

There is a piece of me missing

We will meet again in the sky
There is a piece of me missing 

My arms are empty

There is a piece of me missing

I have a hole in my heart
There is a piece of me missing 

I feel battered and bruised 

There is a piece of me missing

I hope I will heal
There is a piece of me missing

I pretend I’m ok

There is a piece of me missing

I smile but think please go away
There is a piece of me missing

A child that will never be

There is a piece of me missing 

The baby only we got to see
There is a piece of me missing 

People don’t know what to say

There is a piece of me missing

Don’t speak just listen
There is a piece of me missing 

No first tooth, steps, or birthday

There is a piece of me missing 

Just emptiness day after day
There is a piece of me missing

His memory lives on

There is a piece of me missing

Even though he is gone

Leave a Reply

