At the beginning…

This is the first of my posts for #MayWeAllHeal and today’s prompt is ‘at the beginning’. I wasn’t sure which beginning to choose, the beginning when Rory was in my tummy, my hospital stay, labour, Rory being born and dying, my first day at home after it all happened. There are just too many beginnings to choose and that’s just it, I’m not sure where to start.

The beginning for me was during my hospital stay as that is when we were told that the likelihood of going home with a baby was slim. We’d already started our grief journey before Rory was born. I was induced at 23 weeks and the chances of Rory even surviving birth were next to zero. Our little man was born alive but too small and weak for this world. The rest of 13 March 2015 was a complete blur but there is no denying that was the start of the long and scary road we found ourselves on. 

Leave a Reply

