Life & Death

Day two of #MayWeAllHeal. Life and Death is today’s prompt, two words at each end of the spectrum. When I was ill we were dealing with a life and death situation, pre-eclampsia and HELLP are serious conditions which not only kill babies, they kill mothers too. On 12 March I had to make the decision to save my life over Rory’s and that is something I have to live with every day. 

Life and Death. You can’t have one without the other and Rory’s death gave me a new life. Not one I asked for or wanted but one I have nonetheless. I am making the best of it and trying to find joy where I can but there are still sad dark moments where I wish I had my old life back, but then I think about it and realise that my old life didn’t have Rory in it and how on earth could I wish him away? Rory created a lot of love and a lot of good in his short life and after his death, to wish all that away would undo all of that. So I continue to push forward in my life after death in honour of my precious baby boy. 

Leave a Reply

