Day 21 Relationships #captureyourgrief

Day 21 Relationships.

I’ve changed, so obviously my relationships have changed.  

My friendship circle is definitely smaller. Some friends have sadly fallen by the wayside as they don’t get me any more or perhaps they’re frightened of upsetting me or maybe they just don’t like how I’ve dealt with my grief. Others I have distanced myself from as they’ve had babies or have children a similar age to that of Rory and Henry if they’d lived. But on the other hand, some have become greater friends and they’ve been there every step of the way. I’ve also made new friends, some from my bereavement group and others through shared experience, I wish I didn’t have a reason to know these people but I’m so grateful for their love and support.

Family is a tricky one, some have just got it and I’m so grateful for their compassion and support others struggle to understand me and that has impacted dramatically on relationships. Some days I wonder if things will ever be like they were before.  I’m certainly more protective of Matt and Toby as they are all I have on this earth and I don’t want them to go through any more trauma and that has changed our relationship, hopefully for the better.

Leave a Reply

