Forgetting Harry Potter

It is Harry Potter’s birthday today, I love the Harry Potter books and the films (the films will never ever be as good as the books though!). Last year I was excited to read the script/book of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. It had been a long time since there was a new book out so I bought it and in my usual style, I devoured the book in two evenings and I loved it. 

Today some colleagues were talking about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I said that I had read it and as the conversation went on it was clear that I couldn’t remember a single detail about the plot, the twist at the end of act one, the new characters. With some prompting I could recall the job of Harry, Ron and Hermione, and the names of Harry and Ginny’s children but that was it. There was nothing else. 

I made a jokey comment about having a bad memory and my brain being wonky and wondered out loud if I perhaps needed to read the book again.

Inside I was shocked. I know details from 2016 are sketchy and a bit blurred in places, I know I forgot the Olympics happened last year, I know my trauma bruised memory is rubbish these days. But, I forgot Harry Potter. How could I forget Harry Potter? I used to think I was a bit of a wizard of world expert, but how can I be if I can’t even recall the basic plot line of one of the most recent books? 

I’m frightened I’ll never remember much of 2016, it feels like I have wasted a whole year of my life. 

I think I need to accept that much of it ain’t coming back but first things first, I need to re-read that book! 

Leave a Reply

